Alexander Mutiso Munyao wins the London Marathon

Munyao finishes first (Picture: Getty)

Alexander Mutiso Munyao has finished in first place to win the 2024 London Marathon.

Kenenisa Bekele finished in second place with British runner Emile Cairess securing third.

In the women’s elite race, Olympic champion Peres Jepchirchir crossed the finishing line in first place with a women’s only word record of two hours, 16 minutes and 16 seconds.

Second-place Tigst Assefa and Joyciline Jepkosgei in third completed the podium, having also finished inside the previous record time.

Mhairi Maclennan crossed as the best placed British woman in 11th place.

More to follow

MORE : All you need to know about London Marathon 2025 registration as ballot opens

MORE : Here’s a map so you can complete the ‘London Marathon of Pubs’ instead of running

MORE : More than 50,000 people get their jog on for London Marathon in weird and wonderful costumes