Texas Member Dr. Alison Haddock Chosen ACEP President-Elect

Alison Haddock, MD, FACEP, was chosen as ACEP’s new President-Elect by Council at  ACEP23, Oct. 8 at its meeting in Philadelphia. Dr. Haddock will serve one-year as President-Elect before becoming ACEP President during ACEP24 in Las Vegas.

Dr. Haddock is an associate professor of emergency medicine and education at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston. She works clinically at Ben Taub, one of Harris County’s public hospitals.

Within ACEP, Dr. Haddock is a past Chair of the State Legislative Committee and a past board member for the Emergency Medicine Residents’ Association and the Texas College of Emergency Physicians. She attended medical school at Weill Medical College of Cornell University, in New York, N.Y., and completed her emergency medicine residency at the University of Michigan, in Ann Arbor, Mich.

First elected to the Board in 2017, Dr. Haddock served as Chair of the Board in 2021-22.

Immediate Past President Dr. Christopher Kang handed over the gavel to Dr. Terry at the ACEP Council Meeting in October. The ACEP President is elected by the Council, the College’s representative governing body, and serves a one-year term.

ACEP’s Council also elected four members to the ACEP Board of Directors: Chadd K. Kraus, DO, DrPH, CPE, FACEP of Pennsylvania; Abhi Mehrotra, MD, MBA, FACEP of North Carolina; Henry Z. Pitzele, MD, FACEP of Illinois; and James L. Shoemaker, MD, FACEP (incumbent) of Indiana.

On Oct. 12, ACEP’s Board of Directors elected its new officers for 2023-24. Jeffrey M. Goodloe, MD, FACEP, is the Chair of the Board, and Kristin McCabe-Kline, MD, FACEP, is Secretary/Treasurer. The Vice President position was divided into two new roles: Ryan Stanton, MD, FACEP, is the first Vice President of Communications, and James L. Shoemaker, MD, FACEP, is the first Vice President of Membership.

Dr. Jamie Shoemaker, (left) was re-elected to the ACEP Board of Directors by the Council, and will be joined by newly elected members Dr. Henry Pitzele, Dr. Abhi Mehrotra, and Dr. Chadd Kraus. (Click to enlarge.)

During the ACEP23 Council Meeting, Michael James McCrea, MD, FACEP, FAAEM, was elected as Council Vice Speaker. He has served for more than a decade on ACEP Task Forces and Committees, including his current role on the Educational Meeting Planning Committee and Chair of the Bylaws Committee. Dr. McCrea is a Past President of the Ohio Chapter of ACEP and current member of its Board of Directors.