Which team has won the most European Championship titles? Previous Euro winners | Football

The iconic trophy will be lifted again later this year (Picture: Getty)

This summer’s Euro 2024 will see one brand new set of players get their hands on the iconic Henri Delaunay Trophy.

And the victorious team will join an illustrious list of previous European Championship winners, which includes some of the most iconic players and teams in the game.

England will start the tournament as one of the favourites, aided by a favourable draw, with a squad packed full of enviable fire power including Harry Kane, Jude Bellingham and Bukayo Saka.

But they will face competition from the usual cast of contenders, such as Spain, France and hosts Germany, who will all be eyeing the title themselves.

Who has won the most Euros in history?

Spain and Germany are the two most successful countries in the history of the Euros, with three titles apiece.

German player Oliver Bierhoff holds the European Championship trophy after Euro 96

Germany are steeped in European Championship history (Picture: Getty)

Germany first claimed the top prize in European football in 1972, when they competed as West Germany, with two goals from the legendary Gerd Muller helping them to a 3-0 victory over the Soviet Union in Belgium.

A second title was added at Euro 80, with a brace from Horst Hrubesch seeing West Germany edge Belgium 2-1 in the final in Rome.

Germany won their first trophy as a unified country at Euro 96, famously knocking out England on penalties in the semi-finals before beating the Czech Republic at Wembley.

Spain’s first title arrived at Euro 64, with La Roja triumphing 2-1 over the Soviet Union on home soil.

Spain’s golden generation kick-started their period of international dominance with victory at Euro 2008, with Fernando Torres scoring the only goal of the final against Germany.

Having won the World Cup two years later, Spain made it a hat-trick of major titles by claiming a 4-0 win over Italy in the showpiece in Kyiv.

Spain clinched their third title at Euro 2012 (Picture: Getty)

France have won the European Championships twice in their history, courtesy of victories at Euro 84 and Euro 2000.

Italy can boast being two-time winners of UEFA’s flagship tournament, with wins at Euro 68 and Euro 2020 – the latter following a penalty shootout win over England at Wembley.

The first ever Euros were won by the Soviet Union in 1960, who scraped past Yugoslavia 2-1 in Paris in the only major honour the country won.

The Czech Republic (1976), Denmark (1992), Greece (2004), Netherlands (1988) and Portugal (2016) are the only other sides to have tasted success at the Euros.

List of Euro winners

  • Germany – 3 (1972, 1980, 1996)
  • Spain – 3 (1964, 2008, 2012)
  • France – 2 (1984, 2000)
  • Italy – 2 (1968, 2020)
  • Soviet Union – 1 (1960)
  • Czech Republic – 1 (1976)
  • Portugal – 1 (2016)
  • Denmark – 1 (1992)
  • Greece – 1 (2004)
  • Netherlands – 1 (1988)

Which teams have appeared in the most finals?

Germany have appeared in six finals altogether, with their defeats coming in 1976, 1992 and 2008.

Spain have featured in four, with their only loss coming in 1984, whilst Italy have also reached the final on four occasions.

The Soviet Union join Germany as the team with the most final defeats, with three losses in four finals.

France have contested three finals, whilst Czech Republic, Portugal and Yugoslavia have made it to two.

Belgium, Denmark, England, Greece and Netherlands have all played in one European Championship final each.

MORE : Why England star Harry Kane could earn an absolute fortune at Euro 2024

MORE : Full guide to buying Euro 2024 tickets including sales windows and cost

For more stories like this, check our sport page.

Follow Metro Sport for the latest news on
Twitter and Instagram.