Why Emiliano Martinez was not sent off during Lille v Aston Villa penalty shootout | Football

Emiliano Martinez starred in Aston Villa’s penalty shootout win (Picture: Getty)

A niche law allowed Emiliano Martinez to continue in Aston Villa’s penalty shootout against Lille despite receiving a second yellow card.

French side Lille looked set to progress to the semi-finals of the Europa Conference League after going 2-0 up against Villa, leading the tie 3-2 on aggregate.

But Matty Cash scored a late goal to take the tie to extra-time and penalties was then required to separate the two teams.

Martinez, already on a yellow, received a warning from the referee after grabbing the ball after Youri Tielemans’ converted Villa’s first spot-kick.

The Argentina World Cup winner then kept out Nabil Bentaleb’s effort and immediately celebrated and shushed the home fans.

Martinez continue to antagonise the Lille supporters while Villa prepared to take their second penalty and it was at that point that referee Ivan Kruzliak handed him a second yellow card.

It was a surprise, then, to see Martinez continue in goal for the rest of the shootout and ultimately help Aston Villa progress by saving a second penalty.

Martinez, who also caused controversy for his antics during the World Cup final shootout, ran the full length of the pitch to the travelling Villa fans after the win.

The reason Martinez was not sent off is that yellow cards from the game – in this case the 90 minutes plus extra-time – do not carry through to the penalty shootout, meaning he was allowed to continue.

More to follow…


MORE : Cesc Fabregas urges Manchester United to build team around Kobbie Mainoo


MORE : Didi Hamann unconvinced by two key Mikel Arteta signings for Arsenal


MORE : Arsenal join Chelsea and Manchester United in transfer race for RB Leipzig star Benjamin Sesko

General Sport